clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:


Iowa's senior leader takes home a much-deserved accolade after a stellar final season in black and gold.

Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

Iowa senior forward Aaron White was named first team all-Big Ten by both the league's coaches and media Monday evening, joining Indiana guard Yogi Ferrell, Maryland forward Dez Wells, Ohio State guard D'Angelo Russell and potential Wooden Award winner Frank Kaminsky in the coaches' first team selections.

The media replaced Wells with teammate Melo Trimble.

White finished seventh in the league in conference scoring average at 15.9 ppg.  He was also fourth in rebounding, ninth in shooting percentage, eighth in offensive rebounding,  During Iowa's six-game winning streak to close the season, White averaged 21 points and 9 rebounds per game, and he will end his career as Iowa's second all-time leading scorer.

2014-15 marks the second consecutive year that Iowa placed a player on the all-conference team, with Roy Devyn Marble chosen by the coaches and media last season.  This marks the first time since 2006-07 that Iowa had back-to-back first team all-conference selections.

White was not the only player to earn all-conference accolades Monday.  Fellow senior Gabe Olaseni won the conference's Sixth Man of the Year award.  Olaseni, who had told reporters this year that he was playing to win this award, recorded 8.4 points, 4.5 rebounds and 1.6 blocks per game off the bench.  His only start came on Senior Day against Northwestern.  The honor is a capstone on as unlikely a career as any player has had at Iowa, as Olaseni developed from a skinny British kid who had barely played basketball into a bona fide future pro.

The coaches also named junior Jarrod Uthoff third team all-Big Ten.  Uthoff scored 12.2 points per game, second on the Hawkeyes, and added 6.3 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per contest.  He proved himself as one of the conference's most potent offensive weapons and a terrific perimeter shot blocker, and will be the focal point of Iowa's 2015-16 campaign.

Junior guard Mike Gesell was honored with Iowa's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for the second consecutive year, because Mike Gesell is as good a sportsman as you'll ever meet.