clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:


The regular season is in the books; time to hand out individual honors.

Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

The regular season ended in undeniably frustrating and disappointing fashion for Iowa, but that shouldn't entirely overshadow the fact that there were some fantastic individual performances by Iowa players this year, especially Roy Devyn Marble.  Thankfully, the Big Ten coaches and media didn't overlook Marble's all-around brilliance during league play.

Marble becomes the first Iowa player to earn first team All-Big Ten honors in quite some time.

Marble averaged 18.3 ppg in league games, just 0.3 behind Nebraska's Terran Petteway for best in the league.  He also finished ninth in assists (3.5 apg), sixth in steals (1.6 spg), and had the fifth-best assist-to-turnover ratio in the conference (1.7).  And did you know he had the 11th best three-point shooting percentage in B1G games (.407)? Not too shabby indeed, Mr. Marble.  Marble put together a truly excellent senior season, one of the best we've seen at Iowa for several years.  Kudos for that, Dev.

Aaron White also received a little love from the Big Ten coaches and media.

White had some frustrating and inconsistent performances this year, but his overall numbers were strong and when he played well, Iowa tended to be at their best.  White averaged 13.3 ppg (12th in the B1G), 7.2 rpg (3rd in the B1G), shot .534 from the field (4th in the B1G, despite taking far more attempts than anyone else in the top five of FG%), and added 1.1 spg (15th in the B1G).  All in all, a very sold season for the Ginger Ninja.

While Marble did become the first Iowa player to earn first-team All-Big Ten honors in several years, he failed to end Iowa's drought in the Big Ten Player of the Year race.  Iowa's team collapse down the stretch probably played a big role in that failure.  That and the fact that Michigan's Nik Stauskas had a hell of a season himself; he was a thoroughly deserving Player of the Year winner.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Nik Stauskas, Michigan (coaches and media)
COACH OF THE YEAR: John Beilein, Michigan (media); Tim Miles, Nebraska (coaches)
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Aaron Craft, Ohio State (coaches)
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Noah Vonleh, Indiana (coaches and media)
SIXTH MAN OF THE YEAR: Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin (coaches)

You can find the full all-conference lists here.