clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Iowa Women’s Basketball: Hawkeyes Earn All-Big Ten Honors

For the first time in three years, the Player of the Year isn’t a Hawkeye.

Iowa v Maryland
Iowa’s star freshman adds another honor to the resume.
Photo by G Fiume/Maryland Terrapins/Getty Images

The Iowa women’s basketball team is set to take the stage in the Big Ten Tournament later this week after finishing the year 15-8 overall and sixth in the final conference standings with a record of 11-8. A big piece of their success this season has been the tremendous emergence of freshman sensation Caitlin Clark and the growth of junior forward Monica Czinano. All season, Clark has dazzled while Czinano has been a stalwart.

On Monday, the duo were recognized for their tremendous regular seasons by the Big Ten coaches and media as the conference announced the Women’s All-Big Ten teams for 2020-2021. Both Clark and Czinano were named to the first team by both groups.

For Czinano, this is the second straight year being named to the first team as she was named to the group by the media a season ago. This year she makes it a sweep in both the coaches and media polls. This is Clark’s first honor being a freshman.

Clark was also named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year after setting the conference record as the Freshman of the Week 13 different weeks this season. She was also the Player of the Week five times this year while leading the nation in scoring at an incredible 27.4 points per game. She also leads the nation in three-pointers per game at 4.0 and is 4th nationally in assists at 6.9 per game. She becomes the sixth Hawkeye to earn the Freshman of the Year honors and the first since Jamie Printy in 2010.

As incredible of a season as it has been for Clark, she was not the Big Ten’s Player of the Year. Those honors went to Michigan junior forward Naz Hillmon. She becomes the first Wolverine to ever receive the award and marks the first player from a team other than Iowa to win the award since 2017. Former Hawkeye Megan Gustafson won the award in both 2018 and 2019 while Kathleen Doyle took home the honors a season ago.

Clark and Czinano were the only Hawkeyes to be named to the All-Big Ten teams. Here’s a look at the 2nd Team.

And here’s the full listing of Honorable Mentions.

The Hawkeyes also did not have a member of the All-Defensive Team. Northwestern junior guard Veronica Burton repeated as the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and headlined that group.

Maryland’s Brenda Frese was named as the Big Ten Coach of the Year while Penn State freshman guard Maddie Burke was voted the Big Ten’s Sixth Player of the Year.

As the Freshman of the Year, Clark did of course make the All-Freshman team.

Redshirt sophomore guard Kate Martin was also Iowa’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Congratulations to all the Hawkeyes who were honored on Monday. You can catch the women’s team in when they return to action as the 6th seed in the Big Ten Tournament on Wednesday evening.

They’ll take on 11th seeded Purdue in a game that is estimated to start at 8pm CT on FS2.