clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hawkeye Football: Iowa Players Return to Twitter to Call for Change

Despite the negativity on Twitter, Iowa players returned with positive messages and incredible unity on Monday.

In this photo illustration a Twitter logo is seen displayed...
Iowa Football’s Twitter ban has been lifted.
Photo Illustration by Omar Marques/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images

For almost the entirety of the existence of social media, Iowa Football has had a ban on the use of Twitter by its current players. While players have been allowed to utilize other social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, SnapChat or TikTok, Twitter has been off limits. That has been a joint decision between head coach Kirk Ferentz and the team’s leadership council, which again voted last year to keep the ban in place.

Ferentz announced in his prepared remarks Saturday that he had met with the team the prior Thursday and agreed to lift the ban on Twitter. As The Athletic ($) reported, the lifting was initially agreed upon as a limited time change with athletes permited to make one post per month, subject to prior review by the staff. With the outpouring of stories over the weekend, that has now changed to full access for all players for unlimited and uncensored tweets.

While we began to see a few of those tweets pop up over the weekend as the stories from former players hit timelines, the floodgates opened on Monday. What follows is a compilation of those tweets.

Kaevon Merriweather, So. S

Keith Duncan, Sr. K

Keontae Luckett, RS Fr. RB

Josiah Miamen, RS Fr. TE

Dalles Jacobus, Sr. DL

Matt Fagan, So. OL

Noah Fenske, RS Fr. OL

Spencer Petras, So. QB

Tommy Kujawa, Jr. TE

Djimon Colbert, Jr. LB

Jack Campbell, So. LB

Sam LaPorta, So. TE

Jermari Harris, RS Fr. CB

Tyler Linderbaum, So. OL

Alex Padilla, RS Fr. QB

Daraun McKinney, RS Fr. CB

Desmond Hutson, RS Fr. WR

Mark Kallenberger, Jr. OL

Shaun Beyer, Sr. TE

Tyrone Tracy, So. WR

Noah Shannon, So. DL

Nick Niemann, Sr. LB

Caleb Shudak, Sr. K

Max Cooper, Sr. WR

Dane Belton, So. DB

Ivory Kelly-Martin, So. RB

Turner Pallissard, So. FB

Jack Koerner, Jr. CB

Logan Lee, RS Fr. DL

Nolan Donald, RS Fr. WR

Coy Cronk, Sr. OL

Mike Timm, So. LB

This post will continue to be updated as new tweets are posted.