clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No. 1 Iowa wrecks No. 7 Minnesota, 35-6. Hawkeyes are Big Ten Regular Season Champs.

The Hawks dismantle the B1G schedule. Go 9-0 in conference duals.

Brian Ray //

It was a wild and wholly dual that saw Iowa come away with 8 of the 10 matches. Minnesota hung in a majority of the bouts, but Iowa pulled away late thanks to bonus points from #2 Alex Marinelli and #1 Michael Kemerer that eventually blew the doors off Caver-Hawkeye Arena.


184: #21 Owen Webster dec. over Cash Wilcke, 3-2. Iowa 0-3

197: #5 Jacob Warner major dec. over Hunter Ritter, 13-4. Iowa 4-3

285: #1 Gable Steveson dec. over #3 Tony Cassioppi, 7-6. Iowa 4-6

125: #1 Spencer Lee wins by forfeit. Iowa 10-6

133: #2 Austin DeSanto tech fall over Boo Dryden, 24-8. Iowa 15-6

141: #3 Max Murin dec. over #5 Mitch McKee, 6-4 SV1. Iowa 18-6

149: #2 Pat Lugo dec. over #7 Brayton Lee, 3-2. Iowa 21-6

157: #4 Kaleb Young dec. over #24 Ryan Thomas, 5-4 TB2. Iowa 24-6

165: #2 Alex Marinelli tech. fall over Kasper McIntosh, 21-6. Iowa 29-6

174: #1 Michael Kemerer pins #8 Devin Skatzka, 2:52. Iowa 35-6

Five of our wins came by bonus: 1 pin, 2 techs, 1 major, and 1 forfeit gave us an impressive 11 additional team points that opened this up in the final stages.

With this win comes gives The Iowa Hawkeyes the title: BIG TEN REGULAR SEASON CHAMPIONS.

It’s been awhile since we could say that. It feels good. All is good. All is great.

Tom Brands and company can scratch one goal off their list. Now they need to take care of business against Oklahoma St next weekend and get ready for the post season.

A more in-depth recap is in the works. Until then, enjoy it Hawk fans.