clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Iowa Football: Goodson, Jackson, Linderbaum Named 1st Team All-Big Ten

Iowa’s offense put up some big numbers. Now they’re earning big awards.

NCAA Football: Wisconsin at Iowa
Tyler Linderbaum and Alaric Jackson led the way all season for Tyler Goodson.
Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

While the Big Ten is still moving forward with their Championship Week this weekend, the Iowa Hawkeyes officially had their regular season ended on Tuesday after the conference announced Michigan could not proceed with the game.

With the regular season in the rear-view mirror, it’s now accomplishment and watch list season in Iowa City. That kicked off on Tuesay in earnest as the Big Ten conference announced the All-Big Ten selections by both the media and coaches. As you might guess with a Hawkeye team that finished second in the conference in scoring, a number of Iowa guys made the cut.

First, per the media:

And per the coaches:

A couple things to note here. First and foremost, congratulations to Tyler Goodson an being named a first team running back by both the coaches and the media in just his true sophomore season. That’s an incredible accomplishment and something we haven’t seen from a Hawkeyes running back in some time. He’s special.

On the season, Goodson finishes with 762 rushing yards and 7 touchdowns while averaging 5.3 yards per carry over 8 games. Over a traditional 12-game season, that’s on pace for more than 1,100 rushing yards and nearly 11 touchdowns.

Goodson and fellow running back Mekhi Sargent were highly productive this year in part due to the stellar play up front by Iowa’s offensive line. That was headlined by left tackle Alaric Jackson, who joins Goodson as a 1st Team All-Big Ten selection by both the media and coaches.

Alongside Jackson is center Tyler Linderbaum, who was selected to the first team by the media but was somehow overlooked by the coaches. Linderbaum was selected to the 2nd team by the coaches in favor of Ohio State center Josh Meyers. Linderbaum will look to exact revenge in the Rimmington where he is a semifinalist.

Jackson and Linderbaum are joined as Iowa offensive linemen honored by guard Cole Banwart. Banwart, who saw a good portion of his career derailed by injury, had a very solid senior season and was rewarded with second team honors by both the coaches and the media.

In addition the the three first and second team honorees, several other Hawkeyes were named honorable mention by either the coaches, media or both.

With Cody Ince, Kyler Schott and Mark Kallenberger making the list, that makes a total of six Iowa offensive linemen honored. That’s pretty remarkable given only five can see the field at a time.

It’s also worth noting that both of Iowa’s top tight ends were honored and Mekhi Sargent makes the list as well.

And finally, starting QB Spencer Petras had his struggles throughout the year, but he finds his way onto the honorable mention list. That’s likely due to the progress he made down the stretch and his ability to at minimum guide the Iowa offense that finished second in the conference in scoring while riding a six-game winning streak.

Congratulations to all the Hawkeyes who were honored on Tuesday. The defensive honorees are expected in the coming days.