clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Megan Gustafson Named Big Ten Player of the Year

In unrelated news, water is wet.

NCAA Womens Basketball: Nebraska at Iowa Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

In the least surprising election results ever, Megan Gustafson was named the Big Ten Player of the Year for the second year in a row.

The senior was a unanimous first team All Big-Ten choice by both the coaches and the media and was Player of the Year (POTY) by both groups as well. Last year Gustafson was named POTY by just the media (Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell took the coaches vote for her third POTY award).

After winning 13 of a possible 17 player of the week awards this season, any other choice for Player of the Year would have been a travesty. It’s a little unthinkable that the media didn’t have her winning unanimously, but here we are.

Gustafson is just the fifth Hawkeye to win POY honors in the conference and is now one of just nine players to ever win the conference award at least twice.

Iowa Big Ten Player of the Year Winners

  • Michelle Edwards, 1988
  • Franthea Price, 1990
  • Toni Foster, 1993
  • Tangela Smith, 1998
  • Megan Gustafson, 2018, 2019

Joining Gustafson on the All-Big Ten lists were junior Kathleen Doyle who was named to the second team by the media and Tania Davis who was named honorable mention by both the coaches and media. Senior Hannah Stewart was the team representative for the Sportsmanship Award.

The #10 ranked Hawkeyes secured the second seed and open the 2019 Big Ten Tournament on Friday at 5:30 p.m. (CT). Iowa faces the winner of Thursday’s game between seventh seeded Minnesota and tenth seeded Indiana.