clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Iowa Football: Three Hawkeyes Named All-Big Ten Offense, Special Teams

After having three Hawkeyes make the All-Big Ten Defensive teams, Iowa has 3 players named to the All-Big Ten Offense and Special Teams.

Iowa v Nebraska
Keith Duncan is quickly becoming a legend in Iowa City.
Photo by Steven Branscombe/Getty Images

The Big Ten Conference announced the All-Big Ten teams for defense on Tuesday afternoon with three Hawkeyes being honored.

Later in the day, the conference announced its specialists of the year. Not surprisingly, that included Iowa’s kicker Keith Duncan, who was named the Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year.

That honor comes as no surprise given Duncan is a finalist for the Lou Groza Kicker of the Year award nationally. This is your final reminder to get online ASAP and vote for him - the fan vote will count for one actual vote toward the award.

On Wednesday, the Big Ten Conference continued their awards, announcing the All-Big Ten Offensive teams as voted on by the coaches and media. As you might expect, a slew of Ohio State Buckeyes took home hardware, including QB Justin Fields. Fields was named both Quarterback of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year. Also unsurprisingly, Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor was named the Running Back of the Year.

Elsewhere, the Gophers got into the action as Rashod Bateman was named Wide Receiver of the Year. And Purdue’s Brycen Hopkins was named the Tight End of the Year.

As for the Hawkeyes, Tristan Wirfs was named the Big Ten Conference’s Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Wirfs was one of two Hawkeyes to make an All-Big Ten team on the offensive side of the ball. He’s joined by fellow offensive lineman Alaric Jackson, who was named to the third team by both the coaches and media. Wirfs was a first team selection by both groups.

Here’s a look at the full first team:

And here’s the second team:

And finally, the third team:

Center Tyler Linderbaum, wide receiver Ihmir Smith-Marietta and quarterback Nate Stanley were all named honorable mention by the coaches. Linderbaum and Smith-Marsette received honorable mention honors from the media. Nate Stanley also received the sportsmanship award.

You can find the full list of individual award winners and both the media and coaches team selections here.

Congratulations to all the Hawkeyes who were honored yesterday and today!