clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Iowa Women’s Basketball: Megan Gustafson Named Big Ten Player of the Year by Media

Kathleen Doyle was also named second-team all-Big Ten.


Megan Gustafson’s success during the 2017-18 regular season has been no secret and no surprise if you’ve followed the Iowa WBB team these past couple years. Her junior season has now culminated in her being named Big Ten Player of the Year, as decided by the media. Unfortunately, she was not unanimous Big Ten POTY, as the coaches picked Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell (the third POTY honor of her career).

Gustafson’s been Iowa’s most valuable player all season long. She led Iowa in both scoring and rebounding this season, averaging a double-double of 25.3 ppg and 12.8 rpg. Both of those stats, along with her 67% field goal percentage, led the Big Ten Conference. She was also fifth in blocked shots (2 per game) and sixth in free throw percentage (80.4%).

The junior out of Port Wing, WI has been recognized for her play by the conference numerous times already this season, garnering Player of the Week awards in nine out of the 15 weeks that the season spans. In 14 of the season’s 15 weeks, she earned all-conference honors - she was named to the Big Ten Honor Roll in five of the six weeks she wasn’t named Player of the Week.

Gustafson is the first Iowa player to be named Big Ten Player of the Year since 1998 and only the fifth Hawkeye to win the award. The previous Hawkeyes to earn the accolade are Michelle Edwards (1988), Franthea Price (1990), Toni Foster (1993), and Tangela Smith (1998), all of whom won it during their senior seasons.

Upon finding out about the honor, was all smiles.

Along with her Player of the Year honor, Gustafson was also a unanimous first-team all-Big Ten selection. Sophomore Kathleen Doyle was named to the second-team by the coaches and received honorable mention from the media. Doyle averaged 11.2 ppg and 6.6 apg this year on the way to her first all-Big Ten honors. She was named to the all-Freshman team last year.

Congratulations to Megan Gustafson and Kathleen Doyle on their accomplishments! Now it’s time to go win the Big Ten Tournament!