clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:


It’s been a good day for some Iowa defensive players

NCAA Football: Ohio State at Iowa Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

We’ve had some ruffled feathers the past few days when we learned about Josey Jewell’s snub from the Butkus Award and Iowa’s basic non-existence from the all-conference offensive teams, but I think news today helps make up for all that snubbery.

That’s right. Our very own Josey Jewell has earned Big Ten Defensive POTY honors, along with the Butkus-Fitzgerald Award, which recognizes the best linebacker in the conference.

Josh Jackson earned defensive back of the year, after being awarded the Tatum earlier this week. The last Iowa player to win B1G defensive back of the year was Desmond King in 2015. He went on to win the Thorpe Award, which Jackson is also a finalist for. Micah Hyde also won the B1G honor in 2012.

(It’s also worth noting Jewell beat out Devin Bush of Michigan and TJ Edwards of Wisconsin for B1G DPOTY, as both were named finalists for the Butkus over Jewell.)

From the school’s release:

Jewell is the third Hawkeye in program history to have three seasons with at least 115 tackles (Larry Station 83, 84, 85; Abdul Hodge 03, 04, 05). Jewell has led the team in tackles in each of the last three seasons (126 in 2015, 124 in 2016). Jewell has 426 career tackles, fifth all-time in program history.

Jackson, a native of Corinth, Texas, is tied as the national leader with seven interceptions, and also earned all-conference recognition. He leads the nation with 25 passes defended and is tied for second in interception return touchdowns (two), and pass break-ups (18). He ranks third in interception return yards (163). Jackson's seven interceptions rank fourth best for a single season at Iowa, just one from tying Iowa's single-season record (Desmond King, 2015; Lou King, 1981; Nile Kinnick, 1939). Jackson was named the Jack Tatum Award winner on Tuesday and is one of three finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award.

Jackson tied Iowa's school record with two interception returns for touchdowns (B.J. Lowery, 2013) at Wisconsin, covering 43 and 52 yards. The previous week, Jackson tied Iowa's school record with three interceptions in Iowa's 55-24 win over No. 3 Ohio State. Jackson also had a forced fumble at Wisconsin, and a blocked field goal in a win over North Texas. He has started all 12 games this season and recorded 47 tackles.

Jewell becomes the first Hawkeye to win the Nagurski-Woodson Award since defensive end Leroy Smith in 1991 and first ever to win the Butkus-Fitzgerald Award. Jackson is the third Hawkeye to win the Tatum-Woodson aAward in its seven year history, joining Micah Hyde (2012) and Desmond King (2015).

That’s some pretty good company to be in if you ask me.

A full list of the Big Ten’s postseason awards can be found here.

We’ll chat Sunday when we learn Iowa’s bowl destination.