clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Iowa Wrestling Announces 2016-2017 Schedule

Iowa hosts six home dates for the 2016-2017 wrestling season.

Burak Iowa Rutgers wrestling Rachel Jessen

Iowa released their schedule for the 2016-2017 season on Wednesday afternoon and it’s going to be a treat for fans making the trip down to Iowa City this winter for wrestling duals. The home schedule includes six home dates and seven away matchups, with two tournaments to be played this season.

The biggest three match-ups that have been released for the home dual season include the Cy-Hawk series, which takes place on December 10th, a dual against Penn State on either January 20th or 22nd, and a dual on either January 27th or 29th against Ohio State. The latter two duals will be finalized once the Big Ten Network releases its final schedule.

Also visiting Carver-Hawkeye Arena this season will be Wisconsin and Nebraska, while the University of Iowa will be hosting the Iowa City Duals on November 18th.

The regular season includes non-conference duals against South Dakota St. and Oklahoma State, as well as Big Ten duals against Purdue, Minnesota, Indiana, and a possibility of Michigan and/or Michigan State. The Hawkeyes will also appear in the Midlands Tournament in Evanston, IL, as well as the Grand View Open in Des Moines.

The Big Ten Tournament will be held March 4-5 at Indiana University, while this season’s NCAA Championships will be held March 16-18 in St. Louis.

You can find the schedule, complete with dates, here.