clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:


The Outlaw will have his revenge

Nebraska v Iowa Photo by Matthew Holst/Getty Images

The Big Ten coaches and media released their all-B1G teams today and what do you know, some of your Iowa Hawkeyes came away with some pretty impressive honors!

Desmond King and Jaleel Johnson were selected to earn all-conference honors by the Big Ten coaches and media. King’s designation was unanimous, while Johnson was named first-team by coaches and second-team by the media.

Josey Jewell was unanimously named second-team by coaches and media, but is the only linebacker in the conference to be named a finalist for the Butkus Award, which is given to the best linebacker in the nation. Insert hand-on-chin emoji here.

King was also named second-team as a return specialist, while punter Ron Coluzzi was named third-team.

Parker Hesse, Nathan Bazata and Greg Mabin were designated as honorable mentions.

Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers was named the defensive player of the year, which yeah fine, great dynamic talent and all, but Josey Jewell had 43 more tackles and eight more pass breakups—which is to say Peppers had none—than the Michigan man. I’m not saying Jewell should be the B1G DPOY, because he shouldn’t, but we’re also saying this selection is eyebrow-raising at best.

Also this:

Tomorrow the offensive awards are announced. We expect to see James Daniels, Akrum Wadley and possibly LeShun Daniels and George Kittle get their name called. Who else are we missing?