clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FULL 2015-16 IOWA MEN'S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE RELEASED, INCLUDING TIMES AND TV INFO

New, 16 comments

Mark your calendars.

"No Saturday games?  C'mon....."
"No Saturday games? C'mon....."
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The dates, times, and TV info for the 2015-16 Iowa hoops schedule is finally set, so let's take a look at things.  Basketball is just a few weeks away, friends.  Get hype.

(all times central)

BTN

DATE OPPONENT LOCATION TIME TV
Thu, Oct. 29 Univ. of Sioux Falls (exhib) Iowa City, IA 7 PM BTN Plus
Fri, Nov. 6 Augustana (exhib) Iowa City, IA 7 PM BTN Plus
Fri, Nov. 13 Gardner-Webb Iowa City, IA 8:30 PM ESPN3
Sun, Nov. 15 Coppin State Iowa City, IA 4 PM BTN
Thu, Nov. 19 at Marquette Milwaukee, WI 8 PM FS1
Thu, Nov. 26 Dayton Orlando, FL 8 PM ESPN2
Sat, Nov. 28 Notre Dame/Monmouth Orlando, FL 6/8:30 PM TBD
Sun, Nov. 29 TBD Orlando, FL TBD TBD
Wed, Dec. 2 Florida State Iowa City, IA 8:15 PM ESPNU
Sat, Dec. 5 Missouri-Kansas City Iowa City, IA 2 PM ESPN3
Mon, Dec. 7 Western Illinois Iowa City, IA 6 PM BTN
Thu, Dec. 10 Iowa State Ames, IA 6:30 PM ESPN2
Sat, Dec. 19 Drake Des Moines, IA 3:30 PM ESPN3
Tue, Dec. 22 Tennessee Tech Iowa City, IA 7:30 PM ESPN3
Tue, Dec. 29 Michigan State Iowa City, IA 8 PM BTN
Sat, Jan. 2 Purdue W. Lafayette, IN 5 PM BTN
Tue, Jan. 5 Nebraska Iowa City, IA 8 PM BTN
Thu, Jan. 14 Michigan State East Lansing, MI 6 PM ESPN/2
Sun, Jan. 17 Michigan Iowa City, IA 1/3:30 PM BTN
Thu, Jan. 21 Rutgers Piscataway, NJ 6 PM ESPNU
Sun, Jan. 24 Purdue Iowa City, IA 12 PM BTN
Thu, Jan. 28 Maryland College Park, MD 6 PM ESPN/2/U
Sun, Jan. 31 Northwestern Iowa City, IA 2 PM BTN
Wed, Feb. 3 Penn State Iowa City, IA 6 PM ESPNU
Sun, Feb. 7 Illinois Champaign, IL 12 PM BTN
Thu, Feb. 11 Indiana Bloomington, IN 8 PM ESPN/2
Sun, Feb. 14 Minnesota Iowa City, IA 6:30 PM BTN
Wed, Feb. 17 Penn State University Park, PA 5:30 PM BTN
Wed, Feb. 24 Wisconsin Iowa City, IA 8 PM BTN
Sat/Sun, Feb. 27/28 Ohio State Columbus, OH 11 AM/3 PM BTN/CBS
Tue, Mar. 1 Indiana Iowa City, IA 8 PM ESPN
Sat, Mar. 5 Michigan Ann Arbor, MI 7 PM BTN


A few thoughts about the schedule now that all the details are out:

  • We've mentioned this before, but... that's not a great home lineup for the non-conference slate.  Outside of Florida State's visit as part of the ACC-B1G Challenge, there aren't any opponents there who are liable to get you very excited.  On the other hand, the home fans should get plenty of opportunities to see Iowa's massive group of newcomers in action -- when you play the likes of Gardner-Webb, Coppin State, and Tennessee Tech, we're expecting some blowouts. The home slate does pick up during conference play, with Michigan, Michigan State, Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Indiana all visiting CHA.
  • Better brew a few extra pots of coffee if you're watching Iowa hoops this year -- there are 8 Iowa games currently slated to tip off at 8 PM or later.
  • At least 13 Iowa games are scheduled to be televised by BTN (one, the Iowa/Ohio State game in Columbus at the end of February, could be on BTN or CBS). 9 games are scheduled to air on ESPN/ESPN2/ESPNU.
  • Meanwhile, 4 Iowa games are scheduled to air on ESPN3, so you might want to look into ways to get a feed from your computer onto your TV.
  • Thursday night hasn't been Must-See TV for NBC for years, but it will be this year for Iowa hoops fans -- Iowa plays 7 games this year on Thursday nights, many in Big Ten play.
  • Sunday will also be a popular day of the week for Iowa games this year -- Iowa currently has 7 (possibly 8) games scheduled for Sundays this season.
  • Conversely, Iowa has just 4 games scheduled for Saturdays this season (though it could rise to 5, depending on the broadcast decision for that aforementioned Iowa-OSU game), including just one home game -- December 5th vs Missouri-Kansas City.  Yaaaaay.
  • Make sure to schedule your alarms to wake you from your tryptophan-induced food comas on Thanksgiving -- Iowa plays Dayton in the first round of the Advocare Invitational in Orlando on Turkey Day.
  • If you're looking for an absolute blowout Iowa sports weekend, it doesn't get any better than November 13-15, which features two Iowa men's hoops games (11/13 vs. Gardner-Webb, 11/15 vs. Coppin State), two Iowa women's hoops games (11/13 vs. North Dakota, 11/15 vs. Tennessee-Martin), the record-breaking outdoor wrestling meet versus Oklahoma State during the day on 11/14, and a big rivalry game with Minnesota in primetime on 11/14.  In the span of 48 hours, you could take in SIX different Iowa sporting events.  GO IOWA AWESOME indeed.
  • Speaking of getting most bang for your Iowa sports buck, there are three doubleheaders this year with women's basketball and men's basketball -- the two we just talked about on 11/13 and 11/15 and another one on 12/22 (WBB vs. Drake, MBB vs. Tennessee Tech).
  • There are no doubleheaders with wrestling, but you can make weekends out of it on 11/13-15 (see above), 12/4-5 (WRE vs. South Dakota State on 12/4, MBB vs. Missouri-Kansas City on 12/5), 1/22-24 (WRE vs. Purdue on 1/22, MBB vs. Purdue on 1/24), and 1/29-31 (WRE vs. Minnesota on 1/29, MBB vs. Northwestern on 1/31).