clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:


It's good to be the King.

Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

Do you have an All-America list?  If so, you should probably go ahead and plug in Desmond King at first team cornerback on your list.  All the cool kids are doing it.

Congrats, Desmond!  King has been picking up All-America honors with startling regularity since the regular season ended and now it's official: he's a consensus All-American -- and a unanimous consensus All-American, to boot. All-America selectors love them some King.  As we've pointed out on more thanfew occasions already this year, there are certainly plenty of reasons to appreciate King's tremendous play this season.

And in case you were wondering, here's a full breakdown of Iowa football's previous consensus All-Americans:

1919 Lester Belding
1921 Aubrey Devine
1922 Gordon Locke
1939 Nile Kinnick
1954 Cal Jones
1955 Cal Jones
1957 Alex Karras
1958 Randy Duncan unanimous
1981 Reggie Roby
1981 Andre Tippett
1984 Larry Station
1985 Larry Station unanimous
1985 Chuck Long unanimous
1988 Marv Cook
1991 Leroy Smith
1997 Tim Dwight
1998 Jared DeVries
2002 Dallas Clark unanimous
2002 Eric Steinbach
2003 Robert Gallery unanimous
2003 Nate Kaeding
2008 Shonn Greene unanimous
2010 Adrian Clayborn
2014 Brandon Scherff unanimous
2015 Desmond King unanimous

King becomes the 8th different Hawkeye under Kirk Ferentz to earn consensus All-America honors.  He's just the second defender to do so (after Adrian Clayborn in 2010) and the first defensive back (Bob Sanders regrettably never earned more than second-team All-America consideration during his storied Iowa career).  In fact, King is the first Iowa defensive back to ever earn consensus All-America honors and the first Iowa defensive back to earn first-team All-America consideration since Merton Hanks in 1990.

Anyhow, congrats to King.  It's been a helluva season to remember.