clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Iowa 26, Indiana 12: Iowa Wrestling Claims Share Of Record

A scheduling quirk meant the Iowa wrestling team had to deal with an appetizer before the main course of their epic clash with Oklahoma State tomorrow night -- and an unwanted road trip to Bloomington, Indiana. Fortunately, the Hoosiers were gracious hosts, allowing Iowa to coast to a 26-12 victory and tie Oklahoma State's all-time dual meet unbeaten streak at 84 on a night when they rested half their regular starters. Iowa made five changes to the lineup expected to take the mat tomorrow, with decidedly mixed results: fill-ins Blake Rasing, Nick Trizzino, and Jeremy Fahler (who actually might start at 184 tomorrow night, given how unpredictable that weight has been for Iowa this season) notched decision wins at HWT, 141, and 184, while Walt Gillmor (174) and Tomas Lira (197) lost lopsided matches.

Four of Iowa's five expected starters for tomorrow lodged wins, with Matt McDonough (125), Tony Ramos (133), and Mike Evans (165) leading the way with bonus points. Nick Moore (157) shook off a slow start (he trailed 2-1 after the first period) to take an easy 9-4 decision win, while Mike Kelly lost to Taylor Walsh in a mild upset after a reversal in the third period. Aside from McDonough and Ramos, none of the guys expected to wrestle tomorrow looked very sharp: Iowa will need much better showings out of Kelly, Moore, and Evans tomorrow in order to secure a win against Oklahoma State. Moore and Evans wound up winning comfortably, but it took them a while to get going (Moore trailed 2-1 after the first period and Evans was tied 0-0) and Kelly will have a tougher test than Walsh tomorrow. But ultimately it's impossible to read too much into these results, not with so many starters rested and guys thinking about tomorrow night's clash. There were two goals for Iowa at this meet: win and don't get anyone hurt. Missions accomplished. Bring on the 'Pokes.

#2 Iowa 26, Indiana 12
125: #2
Matt McDonough MAJ DEC (13-1) Zach Zimmer (Iowa 4-0)
133: #4
Tony Ramos FALL (3:57) Joe Duca (Iowa 10-0)
Nick Trizzino DEC (5-1) Matt Ortega (Iowa 13-0)
Taylor Walsh DEC (4-3) #11 Mike Kelly (Iowa 13-3)
Nick Moore DEC (9-4) Ryan Konz (Iowa 16-3)
165: #10
Mike Evans MAJ DEC (10-0) Preston Keiffer (Iowa 20-3)
Ryan LeBlanc MAJ DEC (15-5) Walt Gillmor (Iowa 20-7)
Jeremy Fahler DEC (3-1) Luke Sheridan (Iowa 23-7)
197: #4
Matt Powless TECH FALL (22-7) Tomas Lira (Iowa 23-12)
Blake Rasing DEC (6-4) Adam Chalfant (Iowa 26-12)