clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

You Like Me! You Really Like Me!


The 2008 Iowa football team is winning awards like Titanic Gladiator (yeah, definitely Gladiator).  Shonn Greene and Mitch King won the big awards, but they weren't the only players recognized.  Now, for awards given at an earlier ceremony:

First Team All-Conference
Shonn Greene, RB (media (unanimous) & coaches)*
Seth Olsen, G (media & coaches)
Brandon Myers, TE (coaches)
Mitch King, DL (media & coaches (unanimous))

Second Team All-Conference
Rob Bruggeman, C (media & coaches)
Bryan Bulaga, T (coaches)
Kyle Calloway, T (media)
Matt Kroul, DL (media)
Pat Angerer, LB (media & coaches)
Amari Spievey, CB (coaches)
Ryan Donahue, P (coaches)

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Kyle Calloway, A.J. Edds, Bradley Fletcher, Matt Kroul (coaches)
Bryan Bulaga, Ryan Donahue, A.J. Edds, Bradley Fletcher, Brett Greenwood**, Brandon Myers, Amari Spievey (media)

That's one hell of a haul, considering Iowa had just two honorable mentions last season.  Congrats to one and all.

* -- Voters are allowed to choose two running backs for first team all-conference consideration.  Greene didn't get a unanimous selection from the coaches for first team all-Big Ten, which means one coach inexplicably had him third or worse in the conference.  It's either the result of a massive oversight (unlikely) or a petty, vindictive, childish vote by someone with a vendetta against Iowa.  Whoever did it should be relieved of their duties as a voter on these awards, a coach in this conference, and a living being on this planet. 

I'm looking at you, Fitzgerald.

** -- We don't get Greenwood's inclusion, either, but we're not going to rain on his parade.  Besides, the Big Ten's official website has his name misspelled.  That's just cruel.